Double Pie Crust

Double Pie Crust
In a notebook on a shelf in my kitchen is my culinary bucket list. It contains a list of all the foodie people I want to meet, all the food I want to eat, fancy recipes I want to try to make and restaurants would love to eat at. On the last page of the notebook is a list of things I think every good cook should know how to make. Towards the top of that list is homemade pie crust.

Although I consider myself to be a fairly competent cook and baker, the idea of making my own pie dough intimidates me. I knew I had to get of over my pie dough phobia when I decided to make a small batch pot pie recipe. I was NOT going to pay 6 dollars for something I was only going to use a small portion of in a dish I wasn’t certain was even going to turn out.

In my research, I found a few small batch pie crust recipes. I decided to go with Christina Lane’s recipe from her marvelous blog Dessert for Two. It produces a nice tender crust and by adjusting the sugar you can adapt it too savory dishes, like pot pies, as well as desserts. In tomorrow’s post I’ll be giving you a recipe to fill this crust so be sure to check back.

Double Pie Crust


Ingredients
1 cup flour
1/8 tsp salt
2 tsp sugar
4 TBS cold unsalted butter
3-4 TBS water

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, salt and sugar. Cut the butter into small pieces, then add it to the flour mixture. Using two forks or your fingers, rub the butter or cut the butter into the flour until coarse crumbs form. Add 3 tablespoons of water. Stir until a dough forms that sticks together when pressed together in your hand. If it doesn’t stay together when pressed, add the extra tablespoon of water. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and chill the dough for 20 minutes before proceeding. After the dough is chilled, divide the dough in half, making one half slightly larger. Take the slightly larger piece of dough and place it on a floured cutting board. Roll it from the middle to the outer edges, turning the crust a quarter turn each time, till it’s slightly larger than your pie pan. Fit the rolled out dough into your pie pan. Fill your dish with your filling. Roll out the remaining dough and place it over your filling and crimp the edges and slit the top. Bake according to your recipe directions. 1 double pie crust for a 5” deep dish pie pan.
— Be careful, it is very easy to use too much salt in this recipe.

Adapted from Dessert for Two

One thought on “Double Pie Crust

  1. Pingback: Rhubarb Pie | A Solitary Feast

Leave a Reply

