Hard Boiled Eggs

WIN_20140514_070115 (2)

Hard Boiled Eggs
I am not very technique driven in the kitchen. I figure if the end result is satisfying to you, it doesn’t really matter if the dice on your onion is a perfect quarter-inch or not. This is probably the biggest reason I will never go to culinary school. Although I am not hung up on proper technique, I’ll be the first to say sometimes something as simple as changing the grip on your knife or salting your pasta water can significantly change the results you get in the kitchen.

When I was young I learned to make hard-boiled eggs the way my mom did. Put a single layer of eggs in the bottom of a saucepan. Cover the eggs with water. Bring the eggs to a boil and let boil for 10 minutes. Then cool the eggs under cold running water. This procedure produced hard-boiled eggs. The problem is that the slightest mistake in the timing produces eggs with rubbery whites and bilious green yolks. YUCK!!! Then I learned by doing the same process but removing the eggs from the heat and covering the eggs for 10 minutes instead of boiling them for 10 minutes, produces a hard-boiled egg that is so superior to the first method you won’t believe you are eating the same thing. This isn’t really a recipe. It’s a technique but it’s worth knowing because it produces such superior results.

Hard Boiled Eggs
Adapted from what a customer at my job told me
However many eggs you can fit in your pan in a single layer
Enough water to cover the eggs by one inch over the top
Bring the water and eggs to a rolling boil, one that you can’t stir down. Remove pan from the stove, cover, and let sit for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes run eggs under cold water until cool. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

