Quick Pickles

WIN_20140511_081925 (2)
I am well known among my family and friends as being unconventional. I don’t drive. I refuse to have a credit card, even for “emergencies”. I don’t have a microwave. I have a noisy flock of 3 cockatiels, 7 parakeets, a gerbil and 2 foster rats. I recently left a position I held for the last 6 1/2 years to become a cake decorator. I love to bake and cook and do it at least once a day, every day.

Of all my unconventional traits, it’s the cooking and baking that most often get me into trouble. Not trouble exactly, but when you have the reputation of being a good cook and baker, you can’t just buy something to take to someone’s event. It always needs to be homemade.

I like to make these pickles as an unconventional hostess gift when I am invited to dinner or a barbecue. I like them because unlike most quick pickles, these are tangy, not sweetish.

The only bad thing about these pickles is Kirby cucumbers are only available for a limited time in the summer. Although, you can occasionally find them at random times the rest of the year, like I did with the Kirby cucumbers I used to make the batch of pickles in the photo. Don’t try to use regular cucumbers with this recipe. They just don’t work for this recipe.

Quick Pickles


Ingredients
4 kirby cucumbers
½ cup cider vinegar
2 TBS kosher salt
3 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
1 tsp black peppercorns
1 tsp mustard seeds
2 cups water

Cut cucumbers into 1/4 inch slices. Combine 2 cups water, the vinegar, salt and sugar in a non-reactive bowl, stirring to dissolve. Add the cucumbers ensuring that they are completely covered, add more water if necessary. Cover the bowl and let stand at room temperature for 12 hours or overnight. With a slotted spoon, transfer the cucumbers to a colender and rinse with cold water. Divide the cucumbers garlic, peppercorns and mustard seeds between the 2 pint jars or other non reactive container with a lid. Pour the brine over the cucumbers ensuring that the pickles are entirely submerged. Cover and chill for at least 2 hours. The pickles can be kept, refrigerated for about 1 month. 2 pints or 1 quart.

Adapted from Veggie Burgers, Every Which Way

Leave a Reply

