Weekly Menu July 6 – July 13

I am always excited to find cookbooks and magazines devoted to cooking for two but I am almost always disappointed in them. The recipes often rely on heavily processed ingredients or expensive, hard to find ingredients for overly fancy recipes. So when I bought Better Homes and Gardens Cooking For 2 magazine this morning, I wasn’t expecting much.

As I skimmed through the magazine on my way to work, I realized that the majority of recipes used fresh ingredients that I already have in my kitchen. There was a nice variety of recipes including some vegetarian options.

The only problems I see with the magazine are the portion sizes, they seem rather small. I don’t know if the portion will keep me full. Some of the baking recipes require odd sized pans that I have never heard of or seen. The pan issue should be able to be worked around with a little experimenting.

At this point, I haven’t tried any of the recipes. I have based some of this week’s menu around the recipes in the magazine and will review them as I try them.

Sunday
Vegan veggie burgers
Avocado sour cream dip
Salad/dressing

Monday
Corned beef
Cabbage, carrots, potatoes
Soda bread

Tuesday
Turkey and pickled strawberry wraps
Soup
Salad/dressing

Wednesday
Leftovers

Thursday
Chimichurri chicken
Roasted brussels sprouts

Friday
Pumpkin ricotta pancakes
Sausage
Eggs

Saturday
Leftovers

Leave a Reply

