Not Your Typical Muffin Muffin

WIN_20140805_065146When I think of muffins, I think of a combination of sweet, fruit, and/or nuts.  I don’t think of a savory muffin.  Boy! Have I been missing out.  I can’t believe in the dozens of muffin recipes I have tried over the years, I have never tried a savory muffin before.

This recipe was adapted from Beatrice Ojkangas’s Great Whole Grain Breads cookbook.  I usually don’t bake with whole grains because I am not a fan  of dry, crumbly, dense, baked goods.  These muffins are more dense then your typical muffin because they don’t  use any white flour but they are moist and not at all crumbly. These muffins would be good with a bowl of soup or a smear of jam or honey.

Molasses Graham Gems


Ingredients
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup buttermilk
3 TBS lightly beaten egg
1 TBS molasses
1 TBS butter, melted
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup flour

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In a small bowl, stir the baking soda into the buttermilk then add the egg, molasses and melted butter. In a separate bowl, combine the salt and flour. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients and stir until just moistened. Fill muffin cups sprayed with nonstick cooking spray 2/3 full. Bake 15-20 minutes.

Adapted from Great Whole Grain Breads

Leave a Reply

