DIY Spice Blends

WIN_20140803_084858 (2)
When I started adapting recipes for 1 or 2 I decided to find homemade substitutions for as many processed ingredients as I could. I wasn’t into the health aspects of it as much as I was the financial aspects of it. Many of the recipes I wanted to adapt had 2 or more processed ingredients. This resulted in a lot of partially used packets spilling and making a mess in my pantry. Some ingredients, like condensed soups, don’t store well and had to be thrown away immediately. It was incredibly wasteful.

So why make you own spice blends and seasoning packets when there are so many to choose from on the store shelves.

1. I control the ingredients. That mean things like salt, sugar, additives and preservatives.
2. I can add or subtract things to make the blends truly my own.
3. I can make the blends in amounts that are reasonable of a solitary cook.
4. You won’t believe how much better spice blends you make yourself taste compared to the store bought one.

Most of the spice blends I make make about 1/4 cup of seasoning.  I store them in  4 oz jars I had left over from making cranberry jam.  You could also store them in snack sized plastic bags if you wanted to. 

Chili powder and poultry seasoning are the two spice blends I use most frequently.  Please feel free to adapt them as you please. 

Chili Powder
1 tsp paprika
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp oregano
2 tsp garlic powder
Mix all ingredients together and store in an airtight container.

Poultry Seasoning
3/4 tsp marjoram
1/2 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp sage
1/2 tsp rosemary

Mix all ingredients together. Store in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

