Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

WIN_20140821_191529
A few weeks ago my friend, Steph, texted me this message “have you ever made a recipe, and four dozen muffins later you’re like, holy shit this is not what I meant to do.”

Yeah, I can relate. I bought two pints of blueberries on sale yesterday. I ate some on the way home. They were so good I went and bought 4 more pints today. That is 12 cups of blueberries I have to eat before they go bad. This is my “holy shit! This is not what I meant to do” moment.

Of course, the first thing I think of when someone says blueberries, is muffins. I decided to make the whole wheat blueberry muffins from Great Whole Grain Breads cookbook. The muffins are lightly sweet, moist and full of blueberries and way, way better than the muffins you by can buy at the store.

Can I tell you all how much I love the Great Whole Grain Breads cookbook? Every thing I have made out of it has been wonderful. If you have any interest in baking with whole grains, check this book out. Just so you know, I have received no compensation for my opinion on this book. I just wanted you to know it is a great cookbook full of great whole grain recipes.

Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins


Ingredients
6 TBS all-purpose flour
6 TBS whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup well packed brown sugar
3/4-1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup melted butter or canola oil
3 TBS lightly beaten eggs

Spray a muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray; set aside. In a medium bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, salt,brown sugar, and blueberries, mix well, being careful not to mash the blueberries. In another bowl, combine the milk, butter or oil, and egg. Mix the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients, mix until just moistened. Fill the cups 2/3 full. Bake at 400 degrees for 15- 25 minutes or until golden. Remove from the tin and allow to cool.

Adapted from the Great Whole Grain Bread Cookbook

Leave a Reply

