My Mystery Basket–Garlic Scapes

WIN_20140829_171142 (2)
Tonight I feel like a contestant on the cooking show Chopped. The mystery basket ingredients are raw wheat germ, a peach, Turkish figs and garlic scapes. I am the contestant with the, WTF??? What do I do now?? Look on my face. The bad part is I don’t have a group of people behind the scenes to blame for my mystery basket. I did it to myself.

This crazy group of ingredients is what happens when I make an impulsive trip to my favorite foodie store without my list. Fortunately, unlike Chopped, I don’t have to use all these ingredients into a cohesive appetizer, entrée, and dessert. I can use these ingredients individually. So lets start with garlic scapes.

I had never heard of garlic scapes before but they looked so pretty, all green and curly. I just had to try them. I did a little research and discovered garlic scapes are the part of garlic that grows above ground. The scapes are usually removed so all the energy goes into growing a bigger head of garlic. Scapes have a very mild garlic taste so they can be used as a substitute for garlic cloves in a recipe. The next most popular way to use scapes is in a pesto. I, however, needed a salad dressing so I tried he recipe for garlic scape salad dressing.

The original recipe called for white wine vinegar but I didn’t have any so I used rice wine vinegar instead. It also called for using a blender to purée the scapes completely smooth. I just minced my scapes as tiny as possible.

Garlic Scape Salad Dressing


Ingredients
2 TBS garlic scapes, very finely chopped
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup vinegar
1 TBS honey
1 Dijon mustard
1/4 tsp salt

Mince the scapes as finely as possible. Combine all the ingredients in a jar with a tight fitting lid. Shake until all the ingredients are thoroughly combined. This dressing is best if it sits for a few hours before using.

Adapted from Daphne’s Dandelions

Leave a Reply

