My Mystery Basket– Fig and Walnut Soda Bread

MYCOMPUTER - WIN_20140901_153739 (2)
Soda bread is one of my favorite quick breads so I knew I had the fig recipe for my mystery basket when I found the recipe for fig and walnut soda bread. The figs I bought Thursday night were very soft and sweet. Not at all rubbery or chewy like dried fruit sometimes gets.

At first, I didn’t think there was enough sugar in the recipe. I was tempted to add more but I am glad I didn’t. The figs added enough sweetness on their own. The only thing I would change about this recipe is I would add more chopped figs next time.

Fig and Walnut Soda Bread


Ingredients
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
6 TBS chopped walnuts
1/4 cup diced dried figs
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 400°. Spray a 6 inch round cake pan with non stick cooking spray; set a side. In a large bowl, whisk together the all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, walnuts, figs, baking powder, sugar, baking soda and salt. The figs tend to stick together so use your fingers to break them up. Once the figs are covered in flour they will stay separate.

Add the buttermilk to the dry ingredients. Stir until a thick batter forms. Scrape into prepared baking pan, pushing the dough into the edges. Bake in center of 400 degree oven until golden and a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, 25-30 minutes. If bread is browning too much, simply put a piece of tin foil over the top to stop further browning.

Let stand in pan for 5 minutes, then run a knife around the edges. Gently loosen from the edges and slide bread onto a cooling rack. Allow to cool for at least 15 minutes before cutting.

This bread, like most soda breads, doesn’t stay fresh for too long. If wrapped in plastic, it will stay fresh for a couple of days or it does freeze wonderfully.

Adapted from Fourtysomething

Leave a Reply

