Mom’s Chicken Noodle Soup

WIN_20140831_091216 (2)

No one I have ever talked to about blogging has ever said one dang word about what to do when I sit down to write a post and the words don’t come. What to do when I can’t find one interesting thing to say or story to tell.

That’s where I am. I can’t find anything to say. If you knew me, you would know that just doesn’t happen to me…ever. I decided to post a recipe anyway, figuring it is the food that matters. The words will return in time.

Chicken Noodle Soup


Ingredients
2-3 bone in, skin on chicken thighs
2 stalks celery sliced
2 carrots, peeled and sliced
2-3 tsp chicken bouillon, or to taste
2-3 cups egg noodles
2-3 quarts water

In a large kettle or soup pot, add water and chicken. Let the chicken cook over medium heat for one hour. Skim any foam that forms with a spoon. When the chicken is cooked, remove from the pot and let cool. Meanwhile,add the bouillon, celery, carrots and egg noodles to the pot. Bring to a boil. Cook until the noodles and vegetables are tender, about 10 minutes. Meanwhile, remove the skin and bones from the chicken and then chop the chicken into chunks and return to soup. Enjoy a big bowl by itself or with an egg salad sandwich.

Adapted from my Mom’s recipe

2 thoughts on “Mom’s Chicken Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

