Quiche

WIN_20141005_105023 (2)
Sundays are my favorite day of the week. It’s my day off. The buses don’t run so I am “forced” to stay home or at least within walking distance of home. I don’t always get out of my pajamas. I cook, bake, occasionally clean, frequently watch movies or catch up on missed episodes of my favorite shows. I take pictures and write posts for my blog. Sometimes my friend, Steph, comes over. Sometimes I cook for her. Sometimes we go out. We always have fun.

No matter what I do, I like to start my day with a good breakfast. Because I have no set agenda on Sunday mornings, I like to try more involved meals. They aren’t necessarily more complex dishes that take hours to put together, just more involved then my usual oatmeal or muesli. This morning, I tried a small batch version of a quiche. I don’t keep bacon in the house so I substituted chopped, thinly sliced ham. I also used more than one teaspoon. Use as much as you like I cut the cheese into very tiny cubes. This quiche was crustless but if you absolutely need one for your quiche, stay tuned I’ll have an easy crust recipe for you later in the week.

Quiche


Ingredients
1/3 cup fresh mushrooms
1 tsp butter
1 egg
3 TBS milk
1/8 tsp pepper
dash nutmeg
¼ cup shredded cheese
1 tsp bacon bits
1 tsp onion

Saute the mushrooms in the butter until softened. Beat together the egg, milk, pepper and nutmeg. Stir in the mushrooms, cheese, bacon bits and onion. Pour into a 5 inch pie plate sprayed with cooking spray. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until set. Let sit 5 minutes before serving. 1 serving.

Leave a Reply

