Cranberry Orange Viniagrette

WIN_20141013_135402 (5)

I have been aware quite sometime that I am losing my sense of smell. It is a genetic thing because my dad lost his sense of smell years ago. It is scary because as a cook, I am very aware of how much your sense of smell and sense of taste are entwined. My dad says his lack of smell hasn’t effected his sense of taste. So far, losing my sense of smell has only effected my sense of taste n one way. I like bigger, bolder flavors than I used to. Flavors that used to be too much for me, like cumin and pepper jack cheese, are now some of my favorite flavors.

This cranberry vinaigrette has a tang to it that I really like. It goes well with stronger flavored greens, like kale. I like this dressing thicker than my usual salad dressings so I just mash the cranberries with a fork. If you like your dressings thinner give it a whirl in a blender.

Cranberry Orange Vinaigrette


Ingredients
1 cup fresh or frozen cranberries
¼ cup brown sugar
¼ cup apple cider vinegar
½ cup orange juice
¼ cup canola oil
1 TBS Dijon mustard
½ tsp salt

In a small saucepan combine the cranberries, brown sugar, orange juice and vinegar. Bring to a boil and simmer until the berries burst, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool. When cool place the rest of ingredients in a blender or food processor. Add the cranberry mixture and blend until smooth. Refrigerate until cool. Use on assertive salad greens, over ice cream and any other thing you can think of.

Adapted from I Don’t Remember Where

Leave a Reply

