Jenny’s Black Bean Soup

WIN_20140908_180829 (2)
It is a sad day here at A Solitary Feast, I finally had to drag out my winter jacket. Up until now I have been making due with a sweater and light weight jacket but with the temperature hovering at 39 degrees, that isn’t going to cut it any more. On the bright side, I can now eat soup without anyone looking at me funny. Yep, I am one of those people. I eat soup all year around, no matter how hot it is outside.

Jenny's Black Bean Soup


Ingredients
2 cans (4 cups) black beans
½ lb ground beef or other ground meat
6 TBS salsa
1 ½ tsp ground cumin
1 tsp chili powder
chicken stock
1 lime

In a large saucepan brown the meat; drain. Combine 1 can beans and salsa, puree. Combine the black beans and salsa mixture with the meat. Add the chicken stock until the desired consistency is reached. Add the zest of the whole lime and juice of half the lime, the remaining beans and cumin. Stir well to combine. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer 60 minutes.

Adapted from a recipe my sister in law, Jenny, gave me.

Leave a Reply

