Baked Mac and Cheese

WIN_20140513_200844 (2)
The last ten days have been really rough. Last week, I lost my beautiful little ratty girl, Beckham. I spent a day being so pissed at one of my best friends, I almost did something I would have regretted forever, I essentially worked two days straight and everything I cooked for this blog did not turn out well. Everything, that is, except my baked mac and cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese


Ingredients
1 cup elbow macaroni, uncooked
1 TBS butter
1 TBS all purpose flour
½ cup cheddar cheese, shredded and divided
¼ tsp salt
1 cup milk
¼ tsp pepper
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

Prepare the macaroni according to the package directions. Keep warm. Melt butter in a medium saucepan over medium low heat; whisk in flour until smooth. Cook, whisking constantly, 2 minutes, gradually whisk in the milk and cook, whisking constantly, 5 minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat. Stir in ¼ cup shredded cheddar cheese, salt, peppers, and cooked macaroni. Spoon into 2 lightly greased 8 ounce oven proof ramekins, top with remaining ¼ cup cheese. Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes or until bubbly. Let sit 10 minutes before serving.

Adapted from a Gooseberry Patch Cookbook

Leave a Reply

