Fruit Cake Bread

I am one of the few people in the world who like fruit cake. No, like isn’t a strong enough word. I love fruitcake. I will gladly collect all the lost and forsaken fruit cake from my friends and neighbors after Christmas and give them a home in my belly. The fruit cake that is not my friends and neighbors. However, I have never tried to make fruit cake from scratch because the candied fruit is so expensive.

This year I found a recipe that relies on dried fruit, canned fruit and only a hint of the expensive candied fruit. As a result, we have a lighter loaf of fruit cake, that is moist and lightly sweet. It might even make you as big of fan of fruit cake as I am.

Note The last few days have been so overcast and gloomy it has been impossible to take decent pictures for my blog but I have decided to post without pictures this week. I will post pictures as soon as I can get some decent ones.

Fruit Cake Bread


Ingredients
¼ cup butter
6 TBS sugar
½ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp ginger
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
½ tsp vanilla
1 egg
¾ cup all-purpose flour
½ cup crushed pineapple, undrained
½ cup dried fruit, chopped
¼ cup candied cherries, halved

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 5×3 inch loaf pan with cooking spray. In a small bowl, combine the butter, sugar, cinnamon, ginger, baking powder, salt and vanilla. With an electric mixer beat until smooth. Add the egg, beat until smooth. Add the flour, stir to combine. Add the undrained pineapple, stir to combine. Stir in the dried fruits, nuts and candied cherries. Pour batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top. Bake cake for 30 minutes then tent it with foil and bake 15 more minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove from the oven and let rest 20 minutes before removing from the pan. Let cool completely before slice. 1 loaf.

Adapted from the King Arthur’s Flour website

Leave a Reply

