40 Dollar A Week Challenge Menu — Week One

If you have been following my blog for a while you will remember a few months ago I had accepted a challenge from my fried, Deb, to prove my assertion that a single person can eat and eat well, on 40 dollars or less a week, if they cook for themselves. Due to circumstances beyond my control, I was unable to finish the challenge. So I decided to restart the challenge in January.
For those of you who are new or don’t remember the challenge let me explain. My friend, Deb, is as passionate about not cooking as I am about cooking every day. She honestly believes a diet of processed and restaurant food is cheaper than cooking for herself everyday. I argued that I can eat, and eat, well for 40 dollars or less a week, if I cooked for myself. Deb said prove it so here I am.

There are a few rules Deb and I laid out.
1. If I go over the budget for the week, the difference comes out of next week’s budget.
2. My menus must be varied and nutritionally sound. No eating pasta and sauce for the week and calling this experiment a success
3. I will post my menu every Thursday and my receipts every Sunday.
4. It isn’t realistic to say I won’t go out to eat during this challenge. I enjoy the company of my friends too much. I will, however, keep my eating out to once a pay period, once every two weeks. This does not come out of my weekly food budget.

Breakfasts
Thursday – Garlic broccoli scramble
Friday – Chocolate chip refrigerator oatmeal
Saturday – Bear mush
Sunday – Cheese omelet, and buttered toast
Monday – Steph’s French Toast Bake
Tuesday – Oatmeal
Wednesday -Homemade hot cereal

Lunch
Thursday – pork chops, Mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, roasted Brussels sprout
Friday – left over green pepper casserole, salad/salad dressing
Saturday -Homemade pizza, salad/salad dressing
Sunday – Coconut Chicken Tikka Masala, basmati rice, vegetable salad
Monday – Tuna noodle casserole, salad/salad dressing
Tuesday – leftovers
Wednesday – Easy bean burgers, tater tots,

Leave a Reply

