Spicy Kale Cups

WIN_20150301_095318 (2)
I have been on a waffle making binge since I bought a waffle iron a few weeks ago. I have been trying every waffle recipe I can find and trying to create some of my own unique waffle recipes. Frankly, I am getting sick of waffles. So this morning I decided to try something completely different and make these lovely baked eggs.

I know I am a little late jumping the kale bandwagon, I generally refuse to try trendy foods, but in trying to eat more vegetable and greens, I tried kale. I really like it. It is one of the few vegetables I like raw as well as cooked.

The only change I made in this recipe was to add a few tablespoons of cheddar cheese, you can leave it out if you like. If you don’t like kale, just substitute any leafy green for it. You could also substitute any thinly sliced deli meat for the ham.

Spicy Kale Cups


Ingredients
1 cup kale
2 tablespoons cheddar cheese
2 eggs
Hot sauce, to taste
Salt and pepper, to taste
8 thin slices of deli ham

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Heat a skillet over medium-high heat. Add the kale and 1 tablespoon water. Cook the kale for a minute or two, to soften and wilt a bit. Remove the skillet from the heat and set aside. Crack the eggs in a bowl. Add the salt, pepper and hot sauce, whisk to combine. Add the kale to the eggs, mix gently. Spray 4 muffin cups with non stick cooking spray and layer two slices of ham in each cup. Spoon the egg/kale mixture evenly into the cups. Bake 20 minutes or until the eggs are firm. 1 serving

Adapted From Recipe Girl

2 thoughts on “Spicy Kale Cups

Leave a Reply

