Lasagna Soup aka The Importance of Backups

WIN_20150308_155613 (2)
I always keep hard copies of all the recipes I have adapted in a big white binder in my kitchen. It is a throw back when I didn’t have a computer. I would go to the library, type all my recipes, then print them out so I could use them at home.

Well, between getting my new tablet and starting and maintaining a blog last year, it has been a very long time since I updated my big, white binder. I was always just able to plug my flash drive into my tablet and pull up whatever recipe I needed. No big deal.

No big deal until I wanted to make lasagna soup and couldn’t find my flash drive anywhere. I felt sick. Every recipe I adapted and perfected to my tastes over the last year…. gone. All my recipe notes… gone. Literally hundreds of hours of work in the kitchen…. gone with no hope of recreating it.

I tore apartment up trying to find that flash drive. Unfortunately, I didn’t find it. Fortunately, my neighbor did. When I came home from work Saturday, the flash drive was in an envelope taped to my door. My downstairs neighbor found it on the floor in the laundry room. She figured it was mine when she saw all the recipes. I was so relived. I immediately printed out all my recipes and updated my big, white binder. I also started a small, blue binder with all my working recipes and cooking notes. As soon as I get to it I am going to get another flash drive and back up my backup.

Lasagna Soup


Ingredients
½ lb ground beef
½ small onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
½ tsp thymeetting another
1 tsp Italian seasoning
¼ tsp salt
1 ½ tsp brown sugar
1 15 oz can vegetable broth
1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
1 8 oz can tomato sauce
1 cup broken lasagna noodles, 3 noodles
¼ cup Parmesan cheese
1 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded

In a large pot, combine the ground beef, onion, and garlic. Brown the meat until no longer pink; drain. Stir in thyme, Italian seasoning, salt, brown sugar, diced tomatoes, and tomato sauce, mix well. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat. Cover and simmer 20 minutes. Add broken lasagna noodles. Simmer soup until noodles are tender. Add parmesan cheese. Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese. Serve

Leave a Reply

