Cranberry Waffles with Orange Syrup

WIN_20150308_100850 (2)
I guess I am not as sick of waffles as I thought because I keep making more of them. I blame my co worker, Joseph. He keeps suggesting all these flavors I want to try.

Joseph’s current suggestion is a cranberry orange waffle. I can do that. As I experimented I discovered I prefer the straight up puck power of plain cranberries in my waffles to the cranberry orange flavor. To honor Joseph’s request for cranberry orange waffle, I made a simple orange syrup to go with the waffles.

Cranberry Waffles


Ingredients
3/4 – 1 cup cranberries, quartered
1 cup flour
1 ½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
¼ cup sugar
2 eggs
4 TBS canola oil
1 cup buttermilk

In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and salt. In a separate bowl, combine the egg, milk and oil. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just moistened, some lumps are okay. Fold in the cranberries. Spread ¼ to 1/3 cup batter on each side of a preheated waffle iron coated with cooking spray. Bake 7 minutes. 3 servings.

Adapted from Sweet Treats

Orange Sauce


Ingredients
2 TBS sugar
½ tsp cornstarch
1/8 tsp grated orange peel, optional
1/3 cup orange juice
1 tsp butter

In a small saucepan, combine sugar, cornstarch, and orange peel, if using. Stir in the orange juice until smooth. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 1 to 2 minutes or until thickened to a syrup like consistency. Remove from heat; whisk in butter. 1/3 cup 2 tablespoons per servings

Adapted from The Comfort Food Cookbook

Leave a Reply

