Plain Cheesecake

WIN_20150223_094125 (3)
The first time I made this cheesecake the word bland came to mind. The cheesecake just didn’t have the tang I was looking for. In spite of this, I kept going back for just one more bite so I knew it was a good cheesecake.

It wasn’t until I shared a slice with my coworker, Brandon, that I realized that bland wasn’t the word I was looking for. Brandon said this cheesecake isn’t bland, it is subtle. This is the kind of cheesecake that goes well with fruit or a smear of chocolate or a drizzle of caramel. I love when I surround myself with brilliant people.

The next time I make this cheesecake I will try a little more lemon juice and possibly some lemon zest.

Plain Cheesecake

  • Difficulty: intermediate
  • Print

Ingredients
1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs
1 1/2 tsp sugar
1 1/2 TBS butter, melted
Filling:
1 8oz package cream cheese
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
2 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg plus 2 TBS lightly beaten egg

In a small bowl, combine the graham cracker crumbs, 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar and melted butter. Mix well. Spray the sides and bottom of a 6 inch spring form pan with non stick cooking spray and press the crumb mixture onto the bottom of the pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, beat the cream cheese and sugar until smooth. Beat in the vanilla and lemon juice. Add the egg, beat on low speed until combined. Pour the filling into the crust and place on a baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 – 55 minutes. The center of the cheesecake will almost set in the middle when the cheesecake is done. Cool on a wire rake for 10 minutes then run a thin knife around the edges to loosen. Cool on the rack for one hour. Refrigerate over night. Remove the sides of the pan before serving. Garnish as desired.

Adapted from Taste of Home’s Best Loved Cookies cookbook

4 thoughts on “Plain Cheesecake

  1. This Cheescake looks delicious. My mum always puts whipped cream and fresh fruit ontop, or caramel ice cream topping. Sometimes she puts passionfruit pulp to add some tang to it. Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you. i love sharing my recipes with you. It makes my day when some one like you leaves me such kind comments. I am not familiar with passion fruit but some kind of berry sounds good. I have a feeling i am going to be making this recipe often to tweak it and try all the suggestions for toppings I have gotten. Have a good night. Julie

      Liked by 1 person

      • Good on you Julie. My mum always tweets her recipes until they are perfect enough for her book of recipes. She always writes “Rita’s perfect……”
        Looking forward to seeing the other pics to follow as you go on. The Cheescake base looked like a perfect thickness 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

