Shirred Eggs

WIN_20150419_111235 (2)
I have been reading Michael Ruhlman’s cookbook, Egg, A Culinary Exploration of the World’s Most Versatile Ingredient. I am amazed at how many ways there are to cook eggs  that I have never heard of, coddled. Mollet, and shirred to name just a few.

You would think that an egg is going to taste the same no matter how you cook it, an egg is an egg. As I experimented with different ways to cook eggs, I found each method alters the egg’s texture which in turn alters the egg’s taste. Of all the new methods of cooking eggs I have tried lately, I like shirred, or baked eggs best.

The following is  very pared down version of the shirred eggs from the book. I am not a fan of a lot of stuff in my eggs, unless you are talking about omelets. However, feel free to make these your own by adding sautéed vegetables, lightly cooked greens, sausage, ham, and other kinds of cheese.

Shirred Eggs

1 tsp butter

2 eggs

Salt  pepper, to taste

1/4 – 1/2 cup cheese, shredded

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter a small, shallow gratin  dish or ramekin that is big enough to hold two eggs.  Crack the eggs into the dish taking care not to break the yolks. Sprinkle with, salt, pepper and cheese. Bake 8 – 12 minutes or until the eggs are done to your liking.

Adapted from Michael Ruhlman’s Egg cookbook

Leave a Reply

