Corn Bread

WIN_20150504_143225 (2)
In my parents garage, by the door going into the house, are two beautiful cast aluminum cornbread pans hanging on the wall. I have made no secret that I want them. After all, isn’t it my responsibility to help those corn bread pans fulfill their destiny by making as batches of corn bread in them as I can? Apparently not. Every time my mom and I go through the garage we have the exact same conversation.

Me: Mom, I am taking your corn bread pans.
Mom: No.
Me: But I would actually use them for making cornbread.
Mom: You can have them when I am dead.

My mom can quit worrying that I am planning her untimely demise. Yesterday, when I was thrift store shopping, I found a cast iron corn bread pan. I have seen cast iron cornbread pans before but they were between 65 -85 dollars, way out of my price range. The one I bought was only 15 dollars. It is good shape with very little rust. I can hardly wait to get it cleaned up and give it a try.

I now have a lovely corn bread pan. Now what I need is a lovely corn bread recipe. So, my dear readers, do you have a lovely corn bread recipe to share with me? If you do post them in the comments or email me at budgiegirl1@outlook.com. I will adapt them to small batch and post them here. In the meantime, here is my current corn bread recipe to inspire you.

Corn Bread

½ cup cornmeal
½ cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
2 TBS buttermilk powder
3 TBS lightly beaten egg
1 ½ TBS sugar or honey
1 ½ TBS melted butter or canola oil
½ cup water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 6 inch round cake pan with non-stick cooking spray. Combine the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, baking soda, buttermilk powder and salt in a medium bowl. Combine the water, sugar, butter and egg in another bowl. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Mix just enough to thoroughly combine. Spread into the prepared pans and bake 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. 2-3 servings

Leave a Reply

