My New Toy and a Recipe

IMG_0105
When I started A Solitary Feast a little over a year ago, I promised myself, if I was still interested in blogging after one year, I would buy myself a digital camera. Well, my first anniversary was March 6. I am still interested in keeping up my blog so a few weeks ago, I went out and bought myself a Cannon Rebel T5. It isn’t the newest version of the Rebel out there but everyone I talked to said it was a good, solid camera for a beginner.

The camera came in a bundle with two lenses, a camera bag and more buttons and settings than I will probably ever know what to do with. I am so excited to start learning what this camera can do. I haven’t had much time to get out and play with it because life keeps getting in the way. However, I have managed to shoot a few pictures on automode. I thought I would share a few pictures I have taken with you. BEWARE! Most of these pictures are of my animals, some of which are rodents. If rodents bother you in general or the thought of rodents on a food blog bothers you, please stop and skip to the recipe or come back tomorrow when my post will most likely be animal free.

Pork Chops with Apples and Sauerkraut


Ingredients
2 4oz center cut pork chops
1/4 tsp salt
Dash pepper
1 1/2 Golden Delicious apples
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup sauerkraut, well drained
1/4 tsp caraway seeds
1 tsp canola oil

Sprinkle pork chops with salt and pepper. Heat 1/2 tsp canola oil in a skillet over medium high heat. Add pork and cook until browned and cooked through, 3-4 minutes on each side. Transfer to a plate to keep warm. Add the remaining oil to the pan. When oil is hot add the apples and cinnamon. Cook until the apples start to brown, 3-4 minutes. Add Sauerkraut and caraway seeds, cook until heated though.

Adapted from an old issue of Weight Watcher’s Magazine

Leave a Reply

