Country Fried Chicken

IMG_0673
I feel like I have been neglecting the recipe side of my blog lately. Part of the reason I feel this way is I was on vacation last week. I barely set foot in the kitchen for all 9 days of it. Instead of cooking for my blog, I spent my time improving my blog in other is ways. I finally have a header. I have a complete, updated, working index. I am still working on how to add blogs to my blog roll but I will figure it out eventually. The thing I am most excited about is that my recipes can now be printed without the picture and explanatory text. If you are interested in learning how to do this head over to Easy Peasy Pleasy for a quick lesson.

I am trying to get back into the kitchen by pulling out some of my favorite small batch recipes that I don’t make very often. First up, is fried chicken. The key to not having greasy chicken is making sure the oil is very hot before adding the chicken. Don’t want the hot oil to spit all over you? Make sure to pat the chicken completely dry before coating it and adding it to the oil.

Country Fried Chicken

  • Difficulty: Intermediate
  • Print

Ingredients
1/3 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp garlic powder
¼ tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
½ tsp paprika
¼ tsp poultry seasoning
1 egg
¼ cup milk
2 chicken thighs
2 chicken drumsticks
1/3 cup canola oil

In a large resealable bag, combine the first 5 ingredients. In a shallow bowl, beat the egg and milk. Add the chicken to the bag a few pieces at a time and shake to coat. Dip into the egg mixture then return to the flour mixture and shake again. Remove from the bag and let stand 5 minutes. Fry the chicken in oil until golden brown on all sides. Reduce the heat to medium and cook until the meat thremometer reads 180 degrees about 15 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Country Fried Chicken

Leave a Reply

