Spice Rubs

WIN_20141015_161240
This post is for Audrey over at Lady Melady, My Castle, My Food. Recently she had a run in with a rancid dry rub she had purchased and it seems to put her off spice rubs, not that I blame her. I have had these rub recipes in my post stockpile for quite some time so I thought I would share. When done right, spice rubs are amazing things. They can take a boring piece of meat and turn it into something special. Spice rubs can be used in many things besides meat. They can flavor soups, veggies, and pasta. I wouldn’t be surprised to see a spice rub show up on Chopped during the dessert round someday.

The following recipes are for two traditional rubs. I didn’t tweak these recipes in any way other than to reduce the amount it made. Just rub as much or as little of the spice mix onto the meat as you want and cook it as usual. If you need more rub the recipe is easily doubled or even tripled.

Carolina Spice Rub


Ingredients
1 ½ tsp salt
1 ½ tsp sugar
1 ½ tsp brown sugar
1 ½ tsp ground cumin
1 ½ tsp chili powder
1 ½ tsp ground black pepper
1 TBS paprika
Mix all ingredients together. Store in an airtight container. Use as a rub for chicken or pork.

Kansas City Spice Rub


Ingredients
2 TBS brown sugar
1 TBS paprika
¾ tsp black pepper
¾ tsp salt
¾ tsp chili powder
¾ tsp garlic powder
¾ tsp onion powder
¼ tsp cayenne pepper
Mix all ingredients together. Store in an airtight container. Use as a rub for chicken or pork.
2 thoughts on “Spice Rubs

  1. Thank you So much, Julie! I’m eager to try them both but particularly the one with cumin. Love cumin! I’m off in search of somethin’ to rub! You’re the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

