Porcupine Meatballs

IMG_1405 (3)My mom would tell you she isn’t a very good cook. I would disagree. My mom is a great cook. She just isn’t a fancy cook and that is okay. When I was a kid, she worked outside the home, first demonstrating that new fangled gadget, the microwave and then in her own business. So when it came to feeding her family she didn’t have time to spend hours hunting down hard to find ingredients or spend hours standing over a stove. My mom needed meals she could get on the table in a timely manner and that her family would eat. Not always an easy thing to do with three kids.

Porcupine meatballs were a favorite meal of mine was a kid and still are as an adult. I tweaked the recipe to remove the processed instant rice and cream of tomato soup all without adding any cooking time or changing the flavor of the recipe. I like to serve a baked potato on the side so I can smother it with the tomato gravy.

Porcupine Meatballs


Ingredients
¼ cup long grained white rice
¼ cup water
½ tsp salt
dash pepper
dash garlic powder
½ lb ground beef
1 8 oz can tomato sauce
½ cup water
1 TBS brown sugar
1 tsp Worcestershire
In a bowl combine ¼ cup water, rice, salt, pepper, garlic powder and ground beef. Mix well. Shape into 1 ½ inch balls. In a large skillet, brown the meatballs and drain off the fat. Combine the tomato sauce, ½ cup water, brown sugar, and Worcestershire sauce. Mix well and pour the sauce over the meatballs. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer 30 minutes until meatballs are cooked and rice is tender.
Adapted from my Mom’s recipe

4 thoughts on “Porcupine Meatballs

  1. This brings me back to being a kid again too! I don’t think to make it very often now but I’m going to soon! The picture had me licking my lips! And great that you change to real rice and a tomato sauce!

    Like

    • I have an unfortunate reaction to most processed food so for the love of anyone standing behind me or in the room with me I just don’t use it. It is one of the reasons I started cooking for myself.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

