DIY Spice Blends — Pumpkin Pie Spice

According to the calendar, fall starts today. You know what that means? I can finally drag out all the pumpkin recipes I have been dying to adapt. Unlike cranberries, a seasonal fruit I can and do eat all year around, pumpkin is definitely a limited to fall kind of product.

Since I only make pumpkin recipes for a limited time each year I am reluctant to go buy those bottles of pumpkin pie spice. I never use it all, even when I buy the small bottles and no matter what my Mom says, spices don’t last forever. This recipe for pumpkin pie spice makes an incredibly small batch, only two teaspoons. The recipe is easily doubled if you need more.

Homemade Pumpkin Pie Spice


Ingredients
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp cloves or all spice
1/4 tsp nutmeg
Mix all ingredients together. Store in a sealed container. 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice
Leave a Reply

