Pumpkin Walnut Bread

IMG_1711 (2)A few years ago, I totally quit buying cooking magazines. Cooking magazines are expensive and I wasn’t cooking out of them anyway. They just weren’t my go to source for recipes or other cooking information. That being said, I couldn’t resist saying yes when my friend, Heather, offered me a pile of old cooking magazines. Heather brought me a “small” pile of 17 Cooking Light and Gourmet magazines from 2008.

I spent a thoroughly lovely Sunday afternoon pouring over the magazines, reading articles that caught my eye and tearing out recipes I thought I might want to try. As I tucked the recipes I pulled out of the magazines into a folder, I promised myself I would only keep the folder as long as I was trying the recipes. So for the last few weeks I have been picking a recipe or two to try each week. I’ll adapt and post my favorites.

I had never read Gourmet magazine before because my cooking is definitely not gourmet. I figured the recipes would be too involved and fussy for my tastes. I was pleasantly surprised to find several very accessible recipes in my search through the Gourmet magazines, including this one for pumpkin bread. Don’t skip any of the spices. They are what is going to give that incredible smell to your house. This is easily the best pumpkin bread I have ever eaten.

Pumpkin Walnut Bread


Ingredients
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp allspice
1/8 tsp cloves
1/8 tsp ginger
1/8 tsp salt
1 egg, at room temperature
2 1/2 TBS water
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup canola oil
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup toasted walnuts, optional

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Position the rack in the middle of the oven. Spray a 5 x 3 inch baking pan with nonstick cooking spray; set aside. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, cloves ginger and salt. In another bowl, combine the eggs and water. Add the sugar and blend well. Add the pumpkin puree, oil, and vanilla blend well one more time. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until the ingredients are just moistened. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan. Place in the oven and bake for 55-65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Walnut Bread

Leave a Reply

