Magazine Monday — Herbed Chicken and Dumplings

IMG_1832
My friend, Heather, brought me another stack of old cooking magazines. This time they were mostly Cooking Pleasures and various Taste of Home titles. I only just started going through them and tearing out the recipes I want to keep but already have a large stack of recipes to add to the first pile I did a few weeks ago. To keep up with my promise to only keep the recipes I pulled if I was actually trying them on a regular basis, I am starting a new weekly feature called Magazine Monday where I post one adapted recipe from my pile every week.

Today’s recipe is from a 2009 Cooking Light magazine. I tried it because It was already adapted for two and I love dumplings. This recipe actually reminds of my mom’s chicken noodle soup. When I was a kid, my brothers and I would often fight and argue over who would get the last dumpling in the pot. So next time I make this recipe I am going to double the dumplings. This is a great recipe to warm you as the nights get colder.

Herbed Chicken and Dumplings


Ingredients
2 chicken thighs, cut into cubes
3/4 cup chopped celery
1/2 cup chopped carrot
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/8 tsp dried thyme
3 parsley sprigs
1 bay leaf
3 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup milk
Heat a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Spray pan with cooking spray. Add chicken and cook 4minutez, browning on all sides. Remove the chicken from the pan. Add celery, carrot, onion, thyme, parsley and bay leaf. Sauté 5 minutes or until the onion is tender. Add the chicken and broth to saucepan; bring the mixture to a boil. Cover, reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix the flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl. Add milk and stir until just moist. Add heaping teaspoonful into the broth; cover and simmer 10 minutes or until dumplings are done. Discard parsley sprigs and bay leaves.

Leave a Reply

