Taco Pasta, Hamburger Helper Style

IMG_1847
A few weeks ago I tried a hamburger helper type pasta recipe. It wasn’t bad. It just wasn’t something I would make again. However, the idea of a non processed, all in one pot, 30 minute or less meal wouldn’t leave me alone. So I decided to give creating my own taco pasta, hamburger helper style recipe a try.

This recipe was a challenge to create. Usually, when I sit down to create a recipe for 1 or 2 I already know what the recipe tastes like. I am just trying to recreate the flavors in a smaller form. With my taco pasta I really only had a vague idea of what I wanted the final product to taste like so it took me a while to get things where I wanted it. If you like it let me know. I am working on a couple more hamburger helper style dishes and will post them when they are ready if you want me to.

Julie's Taco Pasta


Ingredients
1/2 lb ground beef
1/2 cup onion, chopped
1 1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp cornstarch
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp oregano
1 cup elbow macaroni
8 oz can tomato sauce
1 cup water
In a medium frying pan, combine the ground beef, and onion. Cook until the beef is no longer pink. Add the elbow macaroni, water, tomato sauce and spices. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until the macaroni is tender, 8-10 minutes.
Leave a Reply

