Magazine Tuesday — Chicken Fajita Chili

IMG_1832
This morning I arrived at work two hours early due to a scheduling snafu. So I went up to the deli at the front of the store, bought myself a snack and had, possibly, the two most productive blogging hours I have ever had. I responded to several comments and roughed out three posts. Unfortunately, none of the posts was for the recipe I wanted to post today. So this is going to be a by the seat of my pants post.

Last week I didn’t publish a recipe for Magazine Monday. I had a good reason for this, not one of the recipes I tried was any good. This was rather disappointing because up until then the recipes I tried from magazine pile were wonderful. Fortunately, I am not the kind of person who gives up easily. If I had been I wouldn’t have gotten to try this wonderful chili. I an not a big fan of traditional chili because I don’t like kidney beans and most people whose chili I eat make it so spicy it makes you cry. I like my food without the tears.

I used my own recipe for the fajita seasoning rather than the packet of fajita seasoning from the store which put the heat level just about where I like it. Feel free to add more spice if you like it hotter or less spice if you don’t.

Chicken Fajita Chili


Ingredients
4 boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cubed
1 TBS plus 1 1/2 tsp canola oil, divided
1 TBS lime juice
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
1 onion, sliced
1 tsp minced garlic
1 batch fajita seasoning
1 14 oz can fire roasted diced tomatoes
1 8 oz can tomato sauce
1 cup cooked pinto beans
1 cup red bell pepper, chopped
Place chicken in a non reactive bowl, add 1 tablespoon of oil, lime juice and crushed red pepper. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 2 hours. 1 tablespoon oil over medium high heat. Add chicken and cook 8 – 10 minutes, stirring frequently. Remove the chicken from pan; set aside. Add the onion to the pan; cook 3 minutes or until crisp tender. Add the garlic and cook 30 – 60 seconds. Add the fajita seasoning and stir to coat the onions. Return the chicken to the pot. Stir in the remaining ingredients; bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium low, simmer, uncovered for 30 minutes to blend the flavors.
Leave a Reply

