Millet Breakfast

WIN_20151115_091723
My dry goods pantry looks pretty empty but as I was digging around in it this morning I realized I have a ton of partially used bags of grains, beans and other baking stuff. So I decided to make it a project to find recipes to use up the partial bags of stuff I have in my pantry.

I always have a bag of millet in my pantry. I keep it as a emergency back food up for my flock of parrots. I am bit absent minded and forget to buy bird food before we run out on occasion. They should never go hungry because I have no memory.

There was about a cup of millet left in the bag so I gave half of it to my birds as a treat and then used the rest for my breakfast. Millet made a good, if a bit plain, porridge. Next time I make it I will add some dried or fresh fruit or maybe spices of some kind.

Millet Breakfast


Ingredients
1/2 cup millet, rinsed and drained
1 cup milk
1 cup water
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla
Honey or sweetner of choice, to taste
Mix the millet, milk, water, salt and vanilla in a saucepan. Bring to a boil; reduce the heat to low, cover and simmer for 20 minutes or until the desired consistency is reached. Fluff with a fork. Add any toppings and sweetener.

Leave a Reply

