How to Season Cast Iron

When I started adapting recipes for one or two there weren’t a lot of options for small cook and bake ware. Whenever I saw something that might work, I bought it, whether I had a specific use for it or not. If I didn’t, it probably wouldn’t be there when I did have a specific use for it.

WIN_20140625_122637 (2)These days I can be much more choosy about what I buy for my cook and bake ware. Although my mom would say I am still not choosy enough, especially since I have become enamored with vintage Pyrex and other antique cook and bake ware. Yeah, it is totally my thing to cruise flea markets, consignment shops, thrift stores, garage sales and the occasional random garbage bin to find unique pieces for my collection.

1447115598844A few weeks ago, my friend, Steph, and I were making the rounds of our favorite shops downtown, when I came across an antique store I had never seen before. The store had some small cast iron pans between 3 1/2 inches and 6 1/2 inches in diameter. They would be perfect display pieces for my blog. I could even think of some things I could actually make in the small pans. At $5 each the price was definitely right. So I went home with 5 beautiful pieces of cast iron.

When I got the pieces home I knew I had to season the pans before I used it in order to develop the cast iron’s non stick properties. I had no idea how to go about seasoning my cast iron so I googled it. Instead of coming up with an easy answer to my question, I got a lot of confusing, contradictory information. Use canola oil, don’t use canola, bake at 350 degrees for one hour, bake at 200 degrees for 6 – 12 hours. You can wash your cast iron with soap. You can never wash your cast iron with soap. Uggghhh!!

I talked to my friend, Steph, and decided to use her way of seasoning cast iron.

1. Preheat you oven to 200 degrees.

2. Use a nylon scrubby and wash the cast iron using soap and water. You want to remove any rust, cooking debris and any old seasoning.

3. Dry the cast iron completely.

4. Using some kind of fat or oil, like Crisco, lard, bacon fat, canola, coconut or vegetable oil, spread a thin layer all over the cast iron.

5. Place cast iron upside down in the oven and let bake over night.

6. In the morning, turn off the oven and let the cast iron cool completely.

7. Enjoy your newly seasoned cast iron.

Does this procedure give you a perfect seasoning? No, only time and use will do that but it is a good start.

Leave a Reply

