Magazine Monday — Stroganoff, Hamburger Helper Style

IMG_1832My big, white binder has had a beef stroganoff recipe in it for ages. Every time I make it though, I am a little disappointed in it. It is rich and creamy because of the sour cream but beyond that it has very little flavor. So when I was picking Hamburger Helper flavors to recreate, I decided beef stroganoff had to be one of the flavors.

Most of the beef stroganoff recipes I found get their flavor from a few dollops of tomato paste or a couple tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce. This isn’t bad, it’s just not what I want. So I kept looking for something different. When I was looking through my pile of magazine recipes, I came across a stroganoff recipe that used mustard powder and apple cider vinegar for flavor. A few crazy culinary experiments later I had a beef stroganoff that was creamy, rich and flavorful. I hope you enjoy.

Beef Stroganoff, Hamburger Helper Style


Ingredients
1/2 lb ground beef
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 1/2 tsp minced garlic
1 TBS flour
1 tsp dry mustard
1/4 cup broth
1 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp thyme
1/4 tsp pepper
1 3/4 cup broth
1 cup elbow macaroni, uncooked
1/4 cup sour cream

In a medium sauce pan over medium heat, add ground beef, onion and garlic. Cook until beef is no longer pink. In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup broth, dry mustard and flour, whisk until well combined, set aside. When the beef is done, drain. Add the flour mixture, vinegar, thyme, pepper, macaroni and broth. Stir well to combine. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat. Cook until the macaroni is tender, 8 – 12 minutes. Remove pan from heat and stir in the sour cream.

Leave a Reply

