Grant Bread — Rye Version

I am back from my time out and ready to blog again. It is strange, once I decided to quit blogging, I couldn’t wait to stop but towards the end of my break, I could hardly wait to start blogging again. I really missed the act of preparing recipes, pictures and posts for you. Most of all I missed the connection I have with all of you wonderful people who read my blog. Thank you for all your support during my time out.

Even though I wasn’t blogging, I still spent a lot of time in the kitchen cooking and baking. One recipe that really inspired me during my time out was My Favorite Pastime’s recipe for Grant bread. I love recipes that inspire me to get in the kitchen and try my own variations. The Grant bread recipe has certainly inspired me to do that. I have made a loaf of Grant bread once a week for the last 4 weeks, each loaf a variation on the original whole wheat version.

This week’s crazy culinary experiment was to try a caraway rye version of the Grant loaf. I knew it was going to be a bit tricky substituting a lower gluten flour like rye for wheat. I added the caraway seeds and molasses because my favorite rye bread recipes use them. The result was a very mild rye bread. The next time I try it I may use a medium or dark rye flour instead of light rye flour for a more robust rye taste.

Grant Bread -- Rye Version


Ingredients
2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups rye flour
1 tsp instant yeast
1 tsp salt
2 tsp caraway seeds
1 TBS molasses
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray an 8 x 5 inch bread pan with non-stick cooking spray; set aside. In a medium bowl, combine flours, salt, yeast, sugar and caraway seeds, mix well. In a separate bowl, combine warm water and molasses, stir to dissolve. Add the water/ molasses mixture to the flour; mix well. Scrape the dough into the prepared pan and cover with oiled plastic wrap. Set the pan aside in a warm place and let rise for 40 minutes or until the dough rises to a half inch of the top. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the loaf sounds hollow when tapped on the base. Turn onto a wire rack to cool.

4 thoughts on “Grant Bread — Rye Version

    • Thank you, Audrey. It’s good to be back. I have a question for you. Would you have a Sunday afternoon where we could meet sometime? I would love to meet you and talk blogging, food and whatever else comes up. My friend, Steph, said she would bring to GF if you were interested in meeting. Email me at budgiegirl1@outlook.com if you are interested and we will see what we can set up. Julie.

      Like

  1. Thank you, Lili. I am glad to be back. The break gave me lots of time to come up with some new ideas for the new year and reaffirmed my desire to continue to blog for a third year. Rye bread has always been my favorite whole grain bread. You will be seeing more variations on the Grant loaf in the future as I keep being inspired to fiddle with it. Next up, Garlic Parmesan Grant loaf and maybe a small batch version of the Grant loaf and it’s variations. Julie

    Like

Leave a Reply

