Magazine Monday — Butterscotch Pudding

IMG_1832Did you ever have a weekend that was just made for being in the kitchen?  My plans for the weekend were changed due to illness (hope you are feeling better, Audrey). It was cold, like -13 below zero so doing my traditional Sunday brunch at Happy Joe’s pizzeria wasn’t going to happen. Not even The Sons of Anarchy could hold my attention for long. So I decided to get in the kitchen and play with some of the recipes floating around in my to try pile.

I may have gone a little over board with the sweets. In addition to charred corn tilapia and cilantro rice from Christina Lanes, Cooking for Two cookbook. I also made two batches of fudge from her Desserts for Two blog, two batches of short bread cookies from Mark Bittman’s Kitchen Matrix cookbook, and my favorite thing I made this weekend, a simple butterscotch pudding.

Pudding used to be one of my favorite treats. However, I gave it up when I started removing processed foods from my diet. I never tried making pudding from scratch because I though it was one of those rare things that just wasn’t worth making from scratch. Which just goes to show you I don’t know everything. It is so worth making pudding from scratch. You won’t believe the boxed stuff is the same as the homemade stuff.

Butterscotch Pudding


Ingredients
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 TBS plus 1 teaspoon cornstarch
Pinch salt
1 cup milk
1 egg yolk, lightly beaten
1 1/2 tsp butter
3/4 tsp vanilla
In a small saucepan, combine the brown sugar, cornstarch and salt. Add the milk and egg yolk, stir until smooth. Cook and stir over medium heat until it comes to a boil. Cook 1-2 minutes longer or until the mixture thickens. Remove the saucepan from the heat; stir in the butter and vanilla. Cool to room temperature stirring several times. Pour into 2 dessert dishes and cover with plastic wrap. Chill for two hours before eating.
2 thoughts on “Magazine Monday — Butterscotch Pudding

  1. I’m feeling better, thanks! Mmmm.. I haven’t made pudding from scratch in forever, I must try this. Hubby is a huge pudding fan and his mama makes it from scratch so he’s spoiled. Hope you’re staying warm!

    Like

Leave a Reply

