Black Beans and Rice

1452193853784
My coworker, Liz, once commented on how she wished she could cook like me. My lunches always look so good and how she can’t boil water. I looked at her and said “of course my lunches always look good. Do you think I bring my cooking failures to work?” I don’t care how long you have been cooking or how good of a cook you are there are days when nothing goes right in the kitchen.

How do I know this? Well, I am a fairly competent cook. I have been seriously cooking for about 15 years and everything I attempted to cook yesterday failed and failed spectacularly. The first cooking failure of the day, a pot of black beans. I wanted to make black beans and rice for lunch so I threw some dried beans into a pot, covered them with water and got them cooking . I sat down to watch a little Supernatural and promptly fell asleep. I didn’t wake up until my beans boiled dry and started stinking up the house.

Cooking failure of the day #2 Since I wasn’t, obviously, having black beans and rice for dinner, I decided to make gingerbread pancakes instead. I got everything mixed up and cooking only to discover my pancakes weren’t rising. Even though I had checked the recipe twice, I forgot the baking powder. Worse yet, I was totally out of baking powder so I couldn’t even fix my mistake.

So you see even a competent, experienced cook can have an off day in the kitchen. I ate a couple of hard boiled eggs and went to bed knowing tomorrow would be a better day in the kitchen.

Black Beans and Rice


Ingredients
3/4 – 1 cup black beans, drained
1 1/2 tsp canola oil
1/2 cup white rice
1 cup water
1/2 small onion, chopped
1 – 2 cloves garlic, finely minced
1 Serrano chile, seeded and minced
1/2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp oregano
Drain the beans and set aside. In a medium saucepan, heat oil over medium heat. Add rice. Stir frequently until the rice begins to brown. Add the water and bring it to a boil. Reduce heat to medium, cover, and cook until the water is absorbed, about 20 minutes. Let rest for 10 – 15 minutes. In a separate saucepan, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the onion and sauté until brown. Add the chilies, cumin and oregano. Cook 2-3 minutes. Add the beans and stir to combine. Mix beans into the rice and salt to taste. Cook 5-8 minutes or until heated through.

2 thoughts on “Black Beans and Rice

Leave a Reply

