Yellow Cake

WIN_20160301_130107

At the end of December I stepped down from my cake decorating position and went back to my old position as a cashier. While I don’t regret my decision, I really miss decorating cakes. I really want to keep improving my skills and trying new ones. I couldn’t see how though. I am single and don’t need a whole cake sitting around tempting me and I can only bring so much cake to my coworkers.

It didn’t take me long to start thinking miniature cakes for one or two, that is what I do after all. The first step was to decide on what size cakes I wanted to do. I decided on 4″, 6″ and 8″ cakes in round and square shapes. I could use my collection of spring form pans for the round cakes and I have 6″ and 8″ square pans already.

The second step was finding some small batch cake recipes to try and use as a template for my recipes. I settled on a recipe from Debby Maugans Nakos’ Cookbook, Small Batch Baking. Her to frost this cake recipe for classic yellow cake made a perfect 4″ round cake. I will be using her recipe to scale all sizes of my cakes.

I know this cake looks like I have never decorated a cake before but I am relearning how to frost a cake with a spatula instead of a scraper and I am still looking for the perfect frosting recipe. The one I used for this cake tastes good but isn’t right for actually creating any frosting designs.

Classic Yellow Cake


Ingredients
1/2 cup flour
3 TBS buttermilk
1/8 tsp baking soda
Yolk of 1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
3 TBS butter, melted and cooled
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
Place the oven comes rack in the middle of the oven. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, combine the buttermilk and baking soda; mix well. Add the egg yolk, vanilla, and butter; mix well. In another small bowl, combine the flour, sugar and salt; mix well; mix well. Add the buttermilk mixture and combine until just blended. Spoon the batter evenly into the prepared pan. Gently tap the pan on the counter to remove any air bubbles. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 25 minutes. Remove the cake from the oven and cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes. Run a thin bladed knife around the edges of the pan and turn out onto a rack to cool completely.
Leave a Reply

