Rye Biscuits

865
Why do people always feel bad for me when I tell them I am taking a week off from work but not going anywhere? I don’t feel bad for myself. Because my vacation always starts and ends on my days off, I get 9 days in a row away from work to do what I want, when I want to do it, for as long as I want to do it. How can that be bad? Am I the only person on the planet who finds traveling completely exhausting? Don’t get me wrong, once in a while traveling is fun. I have plans to go on a trip to Minneapolis with my two best friends in August. It is going to be so much fun and I am really looking forward to it.

I am also looking forward to my time of in a couple of weeks, even though I am not going anywhere. I am going to sit and catch up on my Walking Dead. I am going to hit all the thrift stores in the area looking for props and vintage pyrex for my blog. I am going to cook and take pictures for my blog. I am going to crochet a doggie sweater for my friend, Debby’s dog. Or I may change my plans completely. The best thing about staying home for your vacation is you don’t have to plan the shit out of every hour of every day. You can totally go with the flow. So don’t feel bad for me because I am going to be staying home for my vacation.

Rye Biscuits


Ingredients

1/3 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup rye flour

1 TBS brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp caraway seeds, optional

1/8 tsp salt

2 TBS cold butter

1 egg

1 TBS milk, buttermilk, or half and half

In a small bowl, combine the flours, brown sugar, baking powder, caraway seeds and salt.  Using a fork or two knives, cut the butter into the flour until it resembles course crumbs.  In another small bowl, combine the egg and milk.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well.  Drop the batter onto a baking sheet coated with non stick cooking spray about 2 inches apart.  Bake at 400 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove to a wire rack.  Serve warm.

 

Leave a Reply

