Ham and Cheese Quiche

878.JPG

I confess.  I am weak.  I bought a 6 1/2 pound chunk of ham for only two reasons, I love ham and it was cheap, like .69 cents a pound cheap.  Cooking for one means I don’t buy large quantities of meat or anything else, for that matter.  Now I need a million recipes using left over ham.

The first thing I thought making from the left over ham was a ham and cheese Quiche.  So I went to bed with visions of Quiche dancing in my head.  When I woke up the next morning what to my wondering eyes did appear but a recipe for Ham and Cheddar Quiche from Cooking with A Wallflower.   This is my adaption of her recipe.  It is a crustless quiche and tastes wonderful that way but if you must have a crust try my push in pie crust, baking it of  10 minutes before adding the quiche ingredients.

Ham and Cheese Quiche


Ingredients
2 -3 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 cup chopped cooked ham
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup milk
1/4 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 350F. Lightly grease a 5 inch deep dish pie pan with cooking spray.  Mince the garlic and place it all over the bottom of the pan.  Chop the ham and layer it evenly over the bottom of the pie pan.  In a small bowl, combine the eggs, milk and salt.  Whisk until well combined. Pour the egg mixture over the ham.  Spread the cheese of the top of the eggs.  Bake the Quiche for 50 – 55 minutes, until the top is browned and the center of the Quiche is firm.  Let the Quiche cool for 5 minutes before slicing .

 

Leave a Reply

