Kale and Brussels Sprouts Salad

890
Life is too short to eat food just because it is good for you. That’s why you will never see a recipe with chia seeds in it on this blog. There is something about their texture that totally grosses me out. I am not going to try to choke down Chia seeds when there are a million other healthy things out there that I do like that I could be eating.

Healthy things like this Kale and Brussels Sprout salad. I tried this recipe because I had kale left over from another recipe and I love, love, love Brussels sprouts. However, I never tried them raw. Kale and Brussels sprouts are awesome when thinly shredded and served raw.  The kale tastes fresh and green with the Brussels sprouts giving a slightly bitter taste and some texture.  I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t tweak a recipe a little bit.  I added the cranberries and sunflower seeds.

This is a very lightly dressed salad so if you like a lot of dressing on your salad double or triple your dressing ingredients.

Kale and Brussels Sprout Salad

Ingredients

2 TBS canola oil

1 TBS  Dijon mustard

1 small garlic clove, finely grated

salt and pepper, to taste

8 oz  whole Brussels sprouts, shredded

4 kale leaves,  center ribs removed and shredded

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup sunflowers seeds

In a small bowl, combine the canola oil, mustard, garlic, salt and pepper. Whisk well.  In a medium bowl, combine the shredded Brussels sprouts, shredded kale, cranberries and sunflower seeds.  Pour the dressing over the vegetables and toss well.

Two out of three cockatiels approve of this salad.

 

One thought on “Kale and Brussels Sprouts Salad

Leave a Reply

