10 Recipes Every Beginning Cook Should Know #2 Viniagrette

909.JPGI used to laugh at the people I knew who made their own salad dressings.  It seemed like such a ridiculous thing to do when a person has so many to choose from right from the grocery store shelf.  Then I joined Weight Watchers and started reading labels very carefully. It was then I realized most salad dressings are very high in sugar, fat and many other things I can’t pronounce.  If I can’t pronounce it, it probably isn’t very good for me. It seemed to me I was undoing all the good things I was trying to do for my body with Weight Watchers by using these products. I began making my own salad dressings and I haven’t looked back since.

My second recipe every beginning cook should know is the basic vinaigrette.

The basic recipe for a vinaigrette is 3 parts oil to  2 parts vinegar the rest of the ingredients are up to you.  I have included 3 recipes for vinaigrette to show you how infinitely variable they are.  I think once you try them you will find them better then anything you can buy.

Oriental Dressing

Ingredients

3 TBS vegetable oil

1 TBS lemon juice

1 TBS toasted sesame seeds

1 garlic clove, pressed

1/2 tsp fresh ginger, minced

salt and pepper, to taste

Whisk together the first 6 ingredients.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Drizzle over salad greens

Small Batch Vinaigrette

Ingredients

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp Dijon mustard

1 TBS red wine vinegar

3 TBS vegetable oil

Put salt, mustard and vinegar in a small jar and shake it to dissolve the salt. Pour in the oil and shake throughly again. Taste and adjust the seasonings to your liking.  Drizzle over your salad greens.

Garlic Herb Vinaigrette

Ingredients

1 medium garlic clove, minced

5 TBS vegetable oil

3 TBS red wine vinegar

1 TBS fresh lemon juice

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp black pepper

1/8 tsp celery seed

1/4 tsp dry mustard

1 tsp dried dill

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried marjoram

Combine everything in a small bowl. Whisk until blended.  Shake well before serving.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “10 Recipes Every Beginning Cook Should Know #2 Viniagrette

      • As we Baby Boomers age more and more and MORE of us are eating alone. That’s not natural for humans, being members of a social species. But it’s a reality – and your recipes and your love for what you do hear is contagious – and might just empower “loners” to not only eat better, but to find more joy in the entire process – start to finish.

        Amazon has a print on demand option that could be doable in the future for you – if you want to publish. I don’t know who owns the copyright, but I think the author does. You blog as it continues will be collecting these wonderful recipes so they will all be right at your fingertips!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

