Triticale, Spelt and Rye Flakes #1 The Basics

916

One of the things I love to do when I am on vacation is to get in the kitchen and try new ingredients.  So when I was at Natural Grocers last week, I decided to grab some triticale flakes, some spelt flakes and some rye flakes.  At first I was just going to I was just going to try cooking the flakes as a substitute for my morning oatmeal.  The more I thought about it the more I realized that triticale and spelt are just different types of wheat so could I bake with them?  If so, what changes would need to be made to accomodate the differing amounts of gluten in these flakes?  Could the flakes be used in savory dishes like pilafs or veggie burgers?  What would these things taste like?  (I realized a long time ago, I don’t look at food the way most other people do.)

To begin my experiments, I decided to just cook a plain batch of each grain to discover how they taste and if the cooking directions on the packages are accurate.  I generally find the directions on the package use way too much water producing a mushy grain or rice.  Although,  I did find the water ratio in these directions where acceptable.

Today’s recipes are just the basic recipes to cook an oatmeal type porridge.  As I discover or create more recipes I will post them.

Basic Spelt Flakes

1 cup spelt flakes

2 1/2 cups water

In a small saucepan, bring water to a boil.  Add the spelt flakes and reduce the heat to medium – medium low.  Simmer for 15 – 20 minutes. 

Basic Triticale Flakes

1 cup triticale flakes

2 cups water

In a small saucepan, bring water to a boil.  Add the triticale flakes and reduce the heat to medium – medium low.   Cover and cook 15 minutes.

Basic Rye Flakes

1 cup  rye flak
3 cups water

In a small saucepan, bring the water to a boil.  Add the rye flakes and reduce the heat to medium – medium low.  Cover and cook 25 – 30 minutes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

