10 Recipes Every Beginning Cook Should Know #4 Beans and Rice

1452193853784One of the first cookbooks I ever cooked from was Mollie Katzen’s vegetarian masterpiece, The Enchanted Broccoli Forest. The book taught me a lot of things, like vegetables are not evil and it was possible for me to cook from scratch.  Although the Enchanted Broccoli Forest didn’t convert me to being a vegetarian, it did make me appreciate a meatless meal.

So this week’s 10 recipes every beginning cook should know is beans and rice.  I choose beans and rice because it is a nutritious yet very cheap meal. Although beans and rice sounds rather boring, in reality it isn’t.  Aside from the traditional recipes like red beans and rice or black beans and rice, you can find a ton of variations.  My favorite variations of beans and rice come from a blog called No Meat Athlete.  He has a post where he has a master recipe and 5 variations on the master recipe.  Later on he posted a 6th variation that I haven’t tried yet.  I have tried most of his variations and liked them so from time to time I will post my small batch adaptions of his recipes hear.  If you can’t wait you can find all his bean and rice recipes at No Meat Athlete.  I don’t usually use half cans of an ingredients but with the remaining tomatoes with green chilies I make a salsa for chips.

Mexican Beans and Rice

1/2  cup dry rice
1 cup canned pinto beans, rinsed and drained
1/ 2 onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced an
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 can tomatoes with green chilies, drained
juice of 1/2 a lime
2 TBS cilantro, chopped
Cook the rice, according to package directions.  Heat oil in a large pan, Saute the onion, cumin and chili powder until the onion is tender.  Add the beans, tomatoes and lime juice.  Cook over medium high heat for about 5 minutes or until the tomatoes no longer taste raw.  Stir the cilantro into the rice.  Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve with a side of sliced avocado and warm corn tortillas.
2 thoughts on “10 Recipes Every Beginning Cook Should Know #4 Beans and Rice

  1. Interestingly, after nearly 20 years of living in SE AZ with the border fence literally in my backyard – I NEVER developed a taste for cilantro! I don’t remember in my couple of years living in Albuquerque that it was used in their dishes. AZ also uses white goat cheese while NM seems heavy on the orange stuff.

    Your meal here sounds delicious!! Me, of course, leaving out THE BIG C!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

