Barbecue Sauce, 2 Ways

1023

Summer is fast approaching even if the weather hasn’t gotten the message yet. Whose idea was 40 degree weather in May?  The cold weather hasn’t dimmed people’s desire to get out the grill and barbecue stuff, however.   Last weekend my neighbor and his wife invited me over for dinner.  They were going to barbecue ribs and chicken  and have all the fixings. When I got there, however, they told me they were going to take me out for dinner instead because someone forgot to buy barbecue sauce at the grocery store.  Oops.

I asked if I could see if they had the stuff I needed to make barbecue sauce.  I was met with an amazed look and asked ” You can make barbecue sauce? You can really do that?”  Yeah, I can really do that. About 15 minutes later, I had a nice homemade barbecue sauce ready to go.

Barbecue sauce isn’t that difficult to make from scratch.  You probably already have most, if not all, the ingredients in your pantry right now.  I realize that what constitutes a good barbecue sauce is highly, highly personal so feel free to experiment with your own ideas.

Classic Barbecue Sauce

Ingredients

1/2 cup ketchup

1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon water

2 TBS plus 1 1/2 tsp cider vinegar

2 TBS brown sugar

1 TBS Worcestershire sauce

1 1/2 tsp chili powder

1 1/2 tsp ground cumin

3/4 tsp kosher salt

3/4 tsp black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a small pot  over medium heat, without bringing to a boil.  Stir occasionally, for about 5 minutes.

Vinegar Sauce

Ingredients

1/2 cup white vinegar

1/2 cup cider vinegar

1/2 cup ketchup

1 1/2 tsp brown sugar

1 TBS hot sauce, or to taste

dash of Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a small pot over medium heat, without bringing to a boil.  Stir occasionally, for about 5 minutes.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Barbecue Sauce, 2 Ways

  1. They both look good, Julie! Even my hubby was disgusted recently that we had a lot of pulled pork and no barbecue sauce. I couldn’t believe he couldn’t just whip some up on his own! He’s seen me do it many, many times. People think in terms of bottles too much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

