Chicken Tikka Masala

963

I never really experimented with Indian food because of one unfortunate visit to an Indian restraunt where everything on the menu was scorching hot, even when we ordered from the mild side of the menu.  I wasn’t cooking for myself at the time so it never occurred to me that not all Indian food was hot and I could probably find recipes more to my taste with a little research.  Let me tell you, it sucks to be me.  I have been missing out on some really good food.

The day after I mad my red curry chicken and vegetables this recipe for chicken tikka masala showed up on my reader already scaled for two.  I guess I was destined to keep trying for Indian food.

This recipe is a little more involved then my recipe for red curry chicken and vegetables because you have to marinate the chicken for at least an hour before cooking it.  Once the chicken is marinated, however, the recipe comes together pretty quickly.  The only changes I made to this recipe was to use coconut milk instead of heavy cream because it was what I had on hand and reduce the cayenne by  half.  The substitution worked very well.

I was allowed to reprint this recipe here by the lovely blogger over at Simply Delicious. So do me a favor and go give her blog a little love.  She isn’t a completely  recipe for one or two blog but she has a lot of good-looking food on her site.

Chicken Tikka Masala

Marinade:

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1 1/2 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp cayenne pepper, I reduced it to a 1/2 teaspoon

1 tsp black pepper

1 1/2 tsp minced fresh ginger

2 tsp salt

1 1/2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Tikka Masala Sauce:

1 TBS butter

1 medium onion, diced

2 tsp garam masala

1/2 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp paprika

1 8 oz can tomato sauce

1/2 cup heavy cream,  I used 1/2 cup coconut milk

2 TBS fresh chopped cilantro

In a medium bowl, combine the first 8 marinade ingredients.  Spread the marinade over both sides of the chicken and marinate at least 1 hour up to 24 hours.   When the chicken is done marinating, cook the chicken and set aside.  To make the sauce, melt the butter in a large skillet, saute the onions and garlic, until translucent, about 3 minutes over medium heat.  Season the onions with garam masala, tumeric, cumin and paprika. Cook for about 30 seconds.  Stir in the tomato sauce and heavy cream (or coconut milk) .  Bring to a boil and reduce the heat.  Simmer 20 minute or until the sauce thickens over low heat.  Add the cooked chicken and simmer 5 minutes.

This recipe is reprinted courtesy of Simply Delicious.org

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Chicken Tikka Masala

Leave a Reply

