Tangy Coleslaw

IMG_0649I don’t mind mayonnaise based salads when they go directly from the refrigerator to the table but mayonnaise based salads freak me out if they have to travel any distance.  Even if I have just seen the salad come out of a cooler packed with ice, I am sure it is going to give me food poisoning.  I know it isn’t logical but mayonnaise based salads bring out my inner hypochondriac.  Whenever I am asked to bring coleslaw to an event I bring a vinaigrette based coleslaw.

You can use any vinaigrette you like on this salad so use your favorite.  I like to embellish my salad with a handful of Craisins and sunflower seeds just before serving it.  I really like that salty, sweet pop of flavor.

Tangy Coleslaw

Ingredients

3 cups shredded cabbage

½ cup shredded carrot

dressing:

2 ½ TBS white vinegar

2 TBS sugar

2 TBS vegetable oil

1 tsp salt

1 TBS grated or minced onion

Mix all the dressing ingredients together in a small bowl. Put the shredded cabbage and carrots in a medium bowl. Pour the dressing over the cabbage and toss.

Leave a Reply

