Pork with Spinach and Cream

1043

Since I made my Red Curry with  Chicken and Vegetables last month I have been kind of obsessed with trying as many recipes for Indian food as I can, especially curry recipes. Not the Americanized versions of Indian food, but authentic Indian food.  Well, as authentic  as Indian food can get in the middle of North Dakota.

I went to the main branch of the Fargo Public Library to see if I could find a few Indian cookbooks to try before I buy one for myself.  I found Raghavan Iyers 660 Curries cookbook.  I was impressed with it because, unlike the others I looked at, he included recipes for all the spice blends he used in the book. If you follow me, you know I love making spice blends.  There are also many recipes that don’t require spice blends at all.  The variety of curry recipes in this book covers is amazing. The are appetizer curries, seafood curries, vegetarian curries, meat curries and so on.

The problem with this cookbook is not all the information you need is presented in the recipe so make sure you read the head notes, any notes at the end of the recipe and all the information in the side bars.    The recipes still work if you don’t but you can miss information on ingredient substitutions and cooking techniques if you don’t.

I decided to try this recipe first because I had a pork chop that needed to be used up and access to all the ingredients for the spice blend. It was really good. It wasn’t too spicy.  Just be really careful not to over cook the pork.

Pork with Spinach and Cream

Ingredients

1 1/4 lb pork, cut into 1/2 inch cubes

4 TBS cream ( I used half and half)

2 TBS garlic paste

2 tsp coriander scented untoasted blend

1 1/2 tsp kosher salt

2 TBS canola oil

1/2 cup tomato sauce

8 oz fresh spinach, rinsed and finely chopped

1 tsp cumin seeds

Combine the pork, half and half, garlic paste, spice blend and salt.  Mix well and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to 2 hours to let the flavors mingle.

Heat the oil in a medium sauce pan over medium heat.  Add the cumin seed and cook until they are fragrant, 5 to 10 seconds.  Add the pork including the marinade.  Cook, stirring occasionally  until the pork is light brown and the spices are fragrant, about 5 minutes.

Stir in the tomato sauce into the marinade.  Lower the heat, cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the sauce thickens and some oil starts to separate on the surface, 12 to 15 minutes.

Put all the spinach on top of the curry.  Cover the skillet and cook 3 to 5 minutes then stir the spinach into the curry.  Continue to simmer, covered, stirring occasionally until the pork is fork tender, 8 to 10 minutes. 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Pork with Spinach and Cream

  1. Pork with a tomato curry sauce and spinach? I’m there. Coconut milk might be a good substitute for those of us with lactose intolerance. Although then I’d have to use the rest up in a soup or something. Not a totally bad thing I guess!

    Like

Leave a Reply

