Basic Greek Marinade

In the weeks running up to my vacation, I decided to clean out my fridge by using what I had on had rather than grocery shopping for much.  By the end of the second week I was really regretting my decision to do so. Apparently, somewhere along the line I got an extraordinarily good deal on chicken.  Chicken here! Chicken there! Chicken, chicken everywhere!!!!! I was really running out of creative ways to cook chicken and I didn’t think that was possible.

Hoping to get inspired I hopped on my pintrest boards and did some browsing.  Most of my pins were DIY spice blends, spice rubs and marinades.  Since I already have several favorite spice rubs I decided to try some marinades. I picked the basic Greek marinade because I already had all the ingredients on hand.

I have to admidt I was kind of sceptical about trying any of the marinades on my board.  I have tried marinades in the past and didn’t think they imparted much flavor to the meat no matter how long I let it marinate.  The Greek marinade, however, had a subtle taste due to the large amount of oregano and thyme.  It would have probably been a stronger flavor if I could have found my zester to zest the lemon.

Basic Greek Marinade

Ingredients

4 TBS olive oil

1 TBS lemon juice

1 TBS lemon zest

1 clove garlic

3/4 tsp oregano

1 1/2 tsp thyme

Mix all ingredients together.  Place chicken in a small plastic bag and pour the marinade over it.  Press all the air out of the bag and zip shut.  Marinade the chicken for a minimum of 30 minutes up to 3 hours.

One thought on “Basic Greek Marinade

  1. Sounds great! My P.S. (Poultry Supplier/hubby) brings home so much chicken the freezer is a chicken parts reunion. My goal is to reduce the fowl mountain in creative ways and this marinade will happen soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

