Ginger and Garlic Pastes

1035One idea I really like from 660 Curries was the idea of making garlic, ginger and onion pastes and freezing them in tablespoon quantities.  I can see using these pastes in all my cooking experiments not just my Indian cooking experiments. I know that it can be a pain to have to make ingredients before you start cooking but these pastes come together relatively quickly and can be made a head of time. I made the pastes up over the weekend and froze them in tablespoon sized quantities. When they were frozen I popped them out of the tray put them in a labled quart sized freezer bag.  When I needed garlic paste for my Pork with Spinach and Cream, I just grabbed two cubes and tossed them is the pan and continued to cook as they melted.

Garlic Paste

Ingredients

50 medium cloves garlic, peeled

1/2 cup water

In a blender place the water and the garlic cloves.  Process, scraping down the sides as needed, until about the consistency of thick apple sauce.  It will keep in the refrigerator in an air tight container for up to a week.  You can freeze it for up to 2 months.

Ginger Paste

Ingredients

8 oz fresh ginger, peeled and cut into chunks

1/2 cup water

In a blender, place the water and ginger.  Process, scraping down the sides as needed. imto; about the consistency of thick apple sauce.  It will keep in the refigerator in an air tight container for up to a week.  You can freeze it for up to 2 months. 

Leave a Reply

